Christopher Ranch’s California Garlic Blog

It’s no mystery that fresh garlic is one of the most popular, versatile ingredients ever. What remains relatively unknown, however, are the distinct flavor, quality and health differences associated with varying garlic varieties. Christopher Ranch, a family farm in Gilroy, Calif., grows a California heirloom garlic that is a leader in each category. All Garlic Is Not Created Equal. We’ll show you why.

PESTO AND NATIONAL BARBECUE MONTH

Funny thing about May… It’s National BBQ Month, National Hamburger Month and National Salad Month. Is this some tasty twist of fate or are the culinary planets perfectly lined up to kick off Memorial Day, the first big barbecue day of the year? All I know is, there’s food involved and I’m celebrating – everything!  

If the sun holds tomorrow, I think I’ll get a jump on the holiday and clean up the grill and give it a test run. I could throw a few burgers on the barbie, it is burger month after all, but what the hey, it’s been a long, wet winter, so let’s go for steak – a touch rare and brushed with a little garliclove, butter and fresh lemon juice. Normally, I’d make potato salad (one of my specialties) as a side dish, but I’m craving pasta for a change and Pasta Con Pesto in particular. Since my garden basil is still in the seedling stage, I’ll be taking a shortcut to perfect pasta with Christopher Ranch Pesto Sauce.  Love a time saver with flavor.

If I round out my practice party with a nice, fresh tomato salad, I’ll have the entire National Month thing covered (well, just a little fudge on the burger part…) in one perfectly delicious day. Hope the weather cooperates, but if it doesn’t we can always move the party inside.  Where’s National Sunshine Month when you need it?

EASY PASTA CON PESTO

Cook and drain 12 oz. pasta of your choice. Gently warm 8 oz. of Christopher Ranch Pesto Sauce (blend in 1 tbls. of butter if desired.)  Blend pesto sauce and pasta, sprinkle with parmesan and serve hot or cold. 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

